Joe Worrall and Kieran Dowell named in England Under-21 squad for Euro qualifiers

Nottingham Forest duo Kieran Dowell and Joe Worrall have both been included in the latest England Under-21 squad.

The Reds pair have been called up by coach Aidy Boothroyd for a tasty-looking clash against Scotland next month followed by the trip to Andorra.

Boothroyd’s squad will hope to add six points to their tally as they bid to qualify for the Euro finals.

Kieran Dowell (right) celebrates winning the Under-20 World Cup.

Worrall and Dowell were both selected in the Under-21s squad that drew 1-1 in the Netherlands before easing past Latvia 3-0 last month.

“I was really pleased with the way it went, we got four points on the board in our games which was what we’d targeted and the way the group came together for the start of our campaign was pleasing,” said the England boss.

“We had some really good moments in both games, but there are still plenty of things on which we need to work on.

“Overall though, I was really pleased with how it went and now we need to move forward and build on our points tally in the next two games against Scotland and Andorra.

Kieran Dowell celebrates with the trophy after the FIFA U20 World Cup final between Venezuela and England
Kieran Dowell celebrates with the trophy after the FIFA U20 World Cup final between Venezuela and England

“The game with Scotland is an intriguing fixture and it’s a really good game for us. The fact that the Scots beat the Dutch is good for the group I think, because it now sets it up nicely for our game with them.

“They’re a team that will naturally want to beat us and they’ll be working very hard to do that.

“Personally, as a passionate Englishman, I’m really looking forward to it.”

The squad in full for games against Scotland at Middlesbrough on October 6 and away to Andorra on October 10:

Angus Gunn (Norwich City, loan from Manchester City), Dean Henderson (Shrewsbury Town, loan from Manchester United), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Leicester City), Dael Fry (Middlesbrough), Joseph Gomez (Liverpool), Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Fikayo Tomori (Hull City, loan from Chelsea), Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur), Joseph Worrall (Nottingham Forest), Lewis Cook (AFC Bournemouth), Tom Davies (Everton), Kieran Dowell (Nottingham Forest, loan from Everton), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Crystal Palace, loan from Chelsea), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal), Josh Onomah (Aston Villa, loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur), Tammy Abraham (Swansea City, loan from Chelsea), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Demarai Gray (Leicester City), Ademola Lookman (Everton), Sheyi Ojo (Fulham, loan from Liverpool), Dominic Solanke (Liverpool).

…continue on post