Barcelona announce squad for Copa del Rey debut against Murcia


The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana travel to Murcia for their Copa del Rey debut against Real Murcia, and Ernesto Valverde has called 16 players to be in uniform on Tuesday night.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 13. Jasper Cillessen, 31. Adrián Ortolá

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 14. Javier Mascherano, 19. Lucas Digne, 25. Thomas Vermaelen, 36. Marc Cucurella

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 6. Denis Suárez, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. André Gomes, 26. Carles Aleñá

Forwards: 16. Gerard Deulofeu, 17. Paco Alcácer, 37. Jose Arnáiz


The Barça manager decided to rest seven first team players (Marc-André Ter Stegen, Samuel Umtiti, Sergio Busquets, Andrés Iniesta, Paulinho Bezerra, Lionel Messi and Luis Suárez) for this match, and because of five others missing due to injury (Aleix Vidal, Jordi Alba, Arda Turan, Rafinha Alcântara, Ousmane Dembélé), Valverde called four players from Barça B to complete the squad of 16 (the limit for matches against Third Division teams) and give the kids a chance to be around the first team.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Cillessen; Semedo, Mascherano, Vermaelen, Cucurella; Roberto, Gomes, Aleñá; Deulofeu, Alcácer, Denis


The match kicks off on Tuesday night at 9:30pm CET / 8:30pm (UK & Nigeria) / 3:30pm ET, 12:30pm PT (USA) / 1am IST (India, Wednesday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!



…continue on post

LEAVE A REPLY